2020 Magel Award Recipient

Image of Jarrod Grasso, winner of the 2020 Magel Award

Jarrod C. Grasso, RCE

Grasso has been with New Jersey REALTORS® for more than two decades and served as the association’s chief lobbyist before becoming CEO in 2008. In 2015, Grasso chaired the Association Executives Committee, and in 2013 he was inducted into NAR’s Almon R. ”Bud” Smith Leadership Society, which recognizes association executives, regardless of their tenure, as leading contributors to the industry and the profession.

In his community, he serves as vice-chair of the board for the Robert Wood Johnson Barnabas Health Community Medical Center Foundation, as well as on the hospital’s board of directors. He also serves on the board of directors for the Society for the Prevention of Teen Suicide.  The Women’s Political Caucus of New Jersey gave Grasso the Good Guy Award in 2015 for his leadership in advancing policies that support women and families. Grasso received a Certificate in Nonprofit Management from Duke University in 2004.


The William R. Magel Award of Excellence is presented annually to an individual who has truly excelled in his or her role as an association executive of a REALTOR® association.

The most compelling candidates are those who are well-known within the AE community, with an extensive record of participation, mentorship and contributions that is consistent with the Award’s qualifications. The Magel Award recipient should be a person of such achievement and stature that we all say “of course,” when the recipient is announced.

View the list of past recipients.

Who Was William R. Magel?

William R. Magel began his career as an executive officer in 1956 at the Kalamazoo Board of REALTORS®, Michigan. He also served as executive vice president of the Bronx Board of REALTORS®, New York; executive vice president of the New York State Association of REALTORS®; executive vice president of the REALTORS® National Marketing Institute; administrative vice president of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS®; and senior staff vice president of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS®. He was appointed to begin service January 1, 1979, as executive vice president of the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® before he suffered from a heart attack and passed away on July 19, 1978.


All paid local, state, and regional MLS association chief staff officers are eligible. Eligibility must be confirmed before the nomination is processed. Individuals receiving this award are to be thoroughly screened and evaluated to make sure that the distinction of this award remains the highest, and it is truly an honor that will never be taken passively by association executives of the REALTOR® association.

Award Criteria

The candidate must have served at least ten (10) years, prior to nomination, in the capacity of either a chief executive officer of a local or state association of REALTORS®, or a combination of both. The candidate must have served at least one (1) term as a member of the Association Executives Committee. The candidate must have exhibited leadership abilities in his/her capacity as an association executive.

A statement shall be obtained from the local or state association for whom he or she served as executive officer specifying in detail the manner in which the candidate excelled in serving his or her respective organization.

Nomination Procedures

Nomination deadline is April 22, 2020.  

Nominations may be submitted by any person other than the candidate and must be accompanied by a letter prepared by the person making the nomination, setting forth the details of the nominee’s accomplishments and contributions consistent with criteria.

Up to five recommendation letters will be permitted. In the Recommendations and Recognition Advisory Board's experience, the best letters are those that bring to light or emphasize intangible qualities that cannot be communicated through objective sources such as lists of committee participation.

At the Recommendations and Recognition Advisory Board's discretion, applications may be carried over for one year. In those instances, the nominator will be contacted and will have an opportunity to update the application packet.

Download and submit the 2020 William R. Magel Award of Excellence nomination form. Nomination deadline is April 22, 2020. Nominations must be complete at time of submission; piecemeal nominations will not be accepted.

Selection Timeline

Nominations are due annually in April. Selection shall be made by the AEC/Recommendations and Recognition Subcommittee during the REALTOR® Legislative Meetings. The name of the recipient will be announced at the Association Executive Committee’s meeting at the REALTORS® Legislative Meetings. The recipient will receive a personalized plaque at the NAR Board of Directors REALTORS® Conference and Expo meeting.


That's Who We R

The campaign ads rally consumers to "Look for the R" for reassurance, resources, and reliable guidance on their path to property ownership.