NAR offers awards, recognition, and scholarships specifically for state and local association executives. Read about the history, criteria, past winners, and apply. 

**The Terry McDermott Community Leadership Award, which was in place from 2003 to 2022, recognized REALTOR® associations that engaged in community service efforts that were unique or went above what was expected.  View the complete list of recipients


2022 Magel Award Recipient

Tessa Hultz, RCE, CAE

Long Island Board of REALTORS® (LIBOR)

Tessa Hultz, RCE, CAE, is the CEO of the Long Island Board of REALTORS® (LIBOR) in New York, and the 2022 Magel Award Recipient. Before joining LIBOR, she held association management and CEO positions at REALTOR® associations in Missouri, Kansas, and North Carolina. 


Read More About Tessa

Through her leadership, Tessa has guided many others to realize their potential through new learning opportunities. She has served as a volunteer mentor, instructor, and speaker for new AEs. She has inspired and mentored staff and leadership to work toward earning their RCE, CIPS, and CMLX designations, as well as AHWD and e-PRO certifications, C2EX endorsement, and becoming RPAC Major Investors.

Tessa recognizes the importance of giving back to the community and has strong connections to Habitat for Humanity and You Gotta Belief (YGB), a Long Island organization that supports and helps place teen foster children into families.

Tessa’s passion lies in advocating for safe, affordable housing for all. Her personal mission for LIBOR is to continue to create a new identity as a national leader in equality and opportunity in homeownership.

2022 Smith Society Inductees

From left to right:

  • Tyrone Adams, RCE, C2EX, CEO, Colorado Association of REALTORS®;
  • Jean Beck, RCE, AHWD, C2EX, e-PRO®, CEO, Hilton Head Area REALTORS®, SC; 
  • Katie Johnson, AHWD, General Counsel & Chief Member Experience Officer, National Association of REALTORS®.