Work Group Objective

The purpose of the work group is to identify content for a balanced mix of live and virtual program offerings for volunteer and staff leadership teams to include the Midyear Leadership Express program and the November Entrepreneurial Excellence Series; provide input to NAR staff as the REALTOR® Leadership Program for volunteer leaders is developed.


The AEC Volunteer Leadership Resources Work Group was created for two purposes: 1) Plan the following session for REALTOR® association volunteer and staff leadership teams: Leadership Express program (three 40-minute sessions, scheduled concurrently and then repeated, allowing attendees the opportunity to attend two of the three sessions – Midyear); identify speakers for the November Entrepreneurial Excellence Series sponsored by the Convention Committee.

These sessions, along with the Leadership Summit, provide opportunities at NAR meetings for staff and volunteer leaders to forge stronger partnerships, plan for their leadership year as a team, hear updates on NAR issues and initiatives, connect with NAR leadership, and network with other leadership teams.

2) Provide input and support to NAR staff as the REALTOR® Leadership Program for volunteer leaders is developed on marketing the program to local and state associations.

Work Grou​​p Activity

The work group met at the 2011 Midyear meetings in Washington, D.C. They were provided with an overview of the new REALTOR® Leadership Program by NAR staff. The work group was impressed with the courses and shared the information with their leaders.  They brainstormed how the program could be marketed to local and state associations and suggestions that were implemented included:

  • Add points for RCE
  • Suggest RCEs to complete the online course
  • Enhance website
  • Solicit states to sponsor the classes and invite local leaders

2011 Leadership Express Program

The Midyear Leadership Express programming during the Midyear Meetings received scores ranging from 3.8 to 4.8 out of 5.0. All rooms overflowed with approximately 800 attendees. Below is a summary of the Leadership Express programs.

Leadership Express I: “Unlock the L​eader in You “

Speaker: Tye Maner, Tye Maner Group, Riverview, FL (overall evaluation score: 4.8)

Leadership Express II: “Quotability: Communicating to Connect”

Speaker: Kare Anderson, CEO & Founder, Say it Better Center LLC, Sausalito, CA 
(overall evaluation score: 4.3)

Leadership Express III: "Cautious Optimism, Reality or Recipe for Disaster?”

Speaker: Doreen Lecheler, President, VisionLinked, Inc.,  Harrisburg, PA
(overall evaluation score: 3.8)

2012 Leadership Express Program

Three speakers were identified and confirmed for the 2012 Leadership Express Program during the Midyear Legislative meetings.  The three consecutive sessions will be held on May 18, 2012.  Speakers include: Dave Mitchell, President, The Leadership Difference, Inc., Pine, CO; Holly Duckworth, CAE, CMP, CEO/Chief Connections Officer, Leadership Solutions International, Portland, OR; and Richard Mendenhall, CCIM, CIPS, CRB, ePRO, GRI.

2012 Entrepreneurial Excellence Series (EES)

The work group identified 12 speakers for the November 2012 Entrepreneurial Excellence Series including:

  • Mike Staver (2011 AEI keynote)
  • Merril Hoge (ESPN commentator) 
  • Maria Shriver Rick (Minister for NFL)
  • Guy Kawasaki
  • edy Bruschi (New England Patriots) Dr. Robert Fisher (President of Belmont University)
  • Nido Quibin (2009 AEI Keynote)
  • Karl Rove

These speakers will be brought to the 2012 Convention Committee for consideration.

The work group has disbanded and all work will be done virtually in 2012.

20​11 Work Group

Chair:  Daniel Sale, e-PRO, RCE, CAE -- IL
Vice Chair: Paul Griffin, RCE, Vice Chair -- NH


Richard Barkett -- FL
Steven Bois -- IL
Corby Cummins - NM
Joan DeCosta -- MA
Ruth DeHenning, RCE -- OH
Lottie Elam, CAE -- CA
Kathy Hartman, RCE -- CA
Carol Hyman, RCE -- NJ
Larry Johnson, RCE -- TX
Debra Junkin, RCE -- GA
Don Klein -- TN
Cindy Miller, RCE -- TX
Edward Moore, RCE, CAE -- TX
Kathleen Picardo, RCE --NJ
Kimberly Pontius, RCE -- MI
Laura Raudonis, RCE, CAE -- IN
Laura Rubinfeld, RCE -- NJ
Albert Sugutan, RCE -- IL
Tricia Thomas, RCE -- CA
Sherry Tilley -- IN
Shari Veldman, RCE -- MI
Suzette Venturini -- PA
Jonathan Wallace - OR

Staff Executive:  Laurie Oken -- IL
Liaison:  Cindy Butts, RCE, CAE -- ME

Notice: The information on this page may not be current. The archive is a collection of content previously published on one or more NAR web properties. Archive pages are not updated and may no longer be accurate. Users must independently verify the accuracy and currency of the information found here. The National Association of REALTORS® disclaims all liability for any loss or injury resulting from the use of the information or data found on this page.