Core Standards for State and Local Associations

Local, state, and territorial associations of REALTORS®, as a condition of membership in the National Association of REALTORS®, must meet NAR’s Organizational Alignment Core Standards, a set of requirements that fall into six categories:Core Standards Six-Requirements Pie Chart

  1. Code of Ethics 
  2. Advocacy
  3. Consumer Outreach      
  4. Unification Efforts and Support of the REALTOR® Organization 
  5. Technology
  6. Financial Solvency

REALTOR® associations must certify compliance with the standards each subsequent year or be subject to revocation of their charter.

NAR's Board of Directors adopted changes to the Core Standards in its May 14 meeting at the 2016 REALTORS® Legislative Meetings. 

The Core Standards were approved by NAR’s Board of Directors in May 2014, and were amended in May 2016 to replace the Organizational Standards. The purpose of the standards: to raise the bar for REALTOR® associations and ensure high-quality service for REALTORS®.

Grants were available to facilitate association mergers taking place between May 17, 2014, and June 30, 2016, with disbursement after completion of a successful merger. Availability of merger grants was extended through December 31, 2017, for the first 25 mergers occurring after July 1, 2016.

Enforcement of the Organizational Alignment Core Standards will be the joint responsibility of the local associations, state and territorial associations, and National Association.

Further Reading