Certified Residential Specialist logo

Who is it for?

Certified Residential Specialist (CRS) is the highest credential awarded to residential sales agents, managers and brokers.

What You Gain

  • Recognition as an expert in residential sales.
  • Increased transactions, gross sales, and income
  • Ability to join a local Residential Real Estate Council (RREC) chapter and participation in its events, educational offerings, and community service programs
  • Customizable monthly news letter to send to your buyers and sellers
  • CRS-to-CRS referrals and networking

How to Earn It


  • Between 16 and 48 CRS course credits, depending on your number of  transactions and gross sales
  • 32 elective credits (none required if  you have 150 transactions or average $1 million per year of experience, with a minimum of  40 transactions and have been licensed for a minimum of 10 years)
  • Elective credits can also be awarded for other designations and certifications, a bachelor’s degree, and high production volume.

> Learn more about CRS course credits.
> Learn more about elective credits.

Volume Requirements


  • There is no exam for this designation, however individual courses may require an exam for credit.

Professional Affiliation

  • Member in good standing of the Residential Real Estate Council
  • Member in good standing of the National Association of REALTORS®



  • Application fee
    • $75
  • Annual Dues
    • $195

For more information, visit the RREC website.