Nominations Are Now Closed for the 2024 NAR Fair Housing Champion Award

Thank you to those who submitted nominations for NAR Fair Housing Champion Award. Judging is currently underway. Three recipients will be selected as 2024 Fair Housing Champions and announced during NAR’s Fair Housing Virtual Event in April 2024.

This year’s pool of nominees was an impressive reflection of REALTORS® hard work and dedication to advancing fair housing and expanding homeownership. For more information about NAR’s fair housing efforts visit


2023 Fair Housing Champion Award Winners

Abra Barnes

Broker-owner of Barnes & Associates, REALTORS®, Birmingham, AL

View Abra's bio

Abra Barnes, 2023 Fair Housing Award Champion Honoree

Abra Barnes is the broker-owner of Barnes & Associates, REALTORS® in Birmingham, Alabama. Passionate about working in low- to moderate-income areas in Birmingham, empowering clients with the knowledge they need to purchase real estate and build generational wealth, Barnes has helped raise awareness of the lingering effects of past discrimination and continues to be the change in her community and within her brokerage.

REALTOR® Magazine article

Sofia Crisp

Founder and Executive Director, Housing Consultants Group, Greensboro, NC

View Sofia's bio

Sofia Crisp, 2023 Fair Housing Champion Award Honoree

Sofia Crisp is the executive director at Housing Consultants Group in Greensboro and High Point, North Carolina. Crisp, a 30-year veteran in the business and 2023 president of the Greensboro Regional REALTORS® Association, leverages her industry knowledge and community connections to build bridges to homeownership and help clients get into new homes at an affordable cost.

REALTOR® Magazine article

Frank J. Williams

Managing Director of F.J. Williams Realty, Chicago, IL

View Frank's bio

Frank J. Williams

Frank J. Williams is the managing director of F.J. Williams Realty in Chicago, Illinois. Williams has been a fierce advocate for fair housing legislation on the state and local level where he believes fair housing isn’t just about integrating neighborhoods—it’s also about integrating the industry. Williams is fighting for a fairer future in housing for all.

REALTOR® Magazine articles

Past Recipients: Fair Housing Champion Award Winners

Being the Change Series

In 2021, as part of its ACT! Fair Housing Initiative, NAR began profiling REALTOR® fair housing leaders who are “being the change” in their businesses and communities. These video profiles continued into 2022 and with the partnership of, became the Fair Housing Champion Award.

Being the Change in Tacoma

July 26, 2021
Margeurite Martin uses her platform as a real estate blogger, podcaster, and referral agent to engage with issues of equity and fair housing.

Being the Change in Downtown Durham

July 26, 2021
Courtney James of Urban Durham build her business and invests in the community of downtown Durham by working with first-time homebuyers of color.