Click Here REALTOR® Magazine Online: The real estate professional's business support tool.
OFFICIAL MAGAZINE OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS®
Topic Areas Daily News / Blogs / Statistics
Prospecting / Customer Handouts
Court Cases / Ethics Q&A
Buyer's Guides / New Tools
Architecture / Home Trends
Sales Meetings / Profiles



This article was published on: 04/01/2002



States with Established Do-Not-Call Laws
State
Date Passed
Compli-
ance Date
Fines
List Regis-
trant Total (est.)
State Authority and Contact Information
List Cost for Businesses
Caller ID*
Call Curfew
Relevant Exemp-
tions for REALTORS® include
Alabama6/9/997/1/00$2,000 40,700Public Service Commission
877/727-8200
$500/yr
Allowed
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Existing business relationships or vacation time-sharing plans
Alaska8/4/9611/4/96$5008,300Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Unit
907/269-5100
$50 for Fairbanks, Juneau, Kenai, Kodiak, North Pole, Sitka, NW Central Aluetians; $25 for Anchorage
Allowed
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Real estate brokers, in response to a request from a consumer; prior or existing business relationships in the past 24 months
Arizona5/12/998/6/99Up to $10,000 40,200Attorney General
602/542-5025
N/A;
TCPA* guidelines
(company maintains proprietary do-not-call List)
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.No state list, no state exemptions; law mirrors the TCPA
Arkansas4/15/991/1/00$2,50034,000Attorney General
501/682-1334
Free for companies
Prohibited
9 P.M-9 A.M.Real estate brokers; prior or existing business in the past 36 months
California10.10.011.1.03Up to $1,000Not Effective YetAttorney General
916/322-3360
TBD
Allowed
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Established business relationship; individual businessperson or a small business employing no more than 5 full or part time employees
Colorado6/6/017/1/02$2,000 737,700Public Utility Commission
303/866-4500
Up to $500/yr
Allowed
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Existing business relationship in the past 18 months
Connec-
ticut
5/26/001/1/01$5,000 426,000Department of Consumer Protection
800/842-2649
$781/yr;
Must purchase Directory Marketing Association's (DMA) Telephone Reference Service (TRS) list
Prohibited
9 P.M-9 A.M.Existing customers
Florida3/1/897/1/90$10,000284,800Department of Agriculture – Division of Consumer Serv.
850/488-2221
$400/yr
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Prior or existing business relationship with an establishment at a fixed location
Georgia 3/12/981/1/99$2,000317,200Public Service Commission
800/282-5813
$10/yr
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Prior or existing business relationship
Hawaii1/1/991/1/99$2,0005,000Office of Consumer Protection
808/586-2636
N/A;
TCPA* guidelines
(company maintains proprietary do-not-call list)
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.No state list, no state exemptions; law mirrors the TCPA
Idaho4/4/005/1/01Up to $5,00064,700Attorney General
208/334-2400
$100/yr
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Prior or existing business relationship
Illinois10/31/001/1/01Up to $60,00095,100Attorney General
312/814-3000
N/A;
TCPA* guidelines
(company maintains proprietary do-not-call list)
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.No state list, no state exemptions; law mirrors the TCPA
Indiana5/10/011/1/02Up to $25,000 1,264,800Attorney General
888/834-9969
$300/yr
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Real estate brokers
Kansas5/30/027/1/02TBDNot Available YetAttorney General
785/269-2215
TBDTBDTBDEstablished business relationship in the last 36 months.
Kentucky3/04/027/1/02$5,000610,000Attorney General – Consumer Protection Division
502/696-5389
$50,000 bond posting is required as collateral
Prohibited
9 P.M-10 A.M.No applicable exemptions for REALTORS®
Louisiana5/24/014/1/02Up to $3,000 231,600Public Service Commission
225/342-4409
$800/yr

*$20,000 bond posting is required as collateral
Prohibited
8 P.M-8 A.M.; No Sundays; No HolidaysExisting or prior business relationship within the last 6 months
Maine4/14/004/14/00$50018,900Attorney General – Consumer Protection Office
207/626-8816
$781/yr; Must purchase DMA’s TPS list
Allowed
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Existing business
Minnesota5/15/021/1/03$1,000Not Available YetMinnesota Department of Commerce
651/296-4026
$500
($125 per quarter)
$360
($90 per quarter)
$300
($75 per quarter)
Prohibited9PM-9AMBusinesses with previous business relationships
Missouri5.12.007.1.01$5,000979,500Attorney General
866/662-2551
$600/yr
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Prior or existing business relationship within 180 days; response to a referral by people working from their primary residence; people licensed in a trade, occupation, or profession
Nebraska4/01/932/07/00$1,00025,400Attorney General
402/472-2682
N/A;
TCPA* (company maintains proprietary do-not-call list); guidelines
apply to automatic dialers
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.No state list, no state exemptions; law mirrors the TCPA
New York6/15/005/1/01$2,0002,344,500New York State Consumer Protection Board
866/887-5478
$500/yr
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Without intent to complete a sale until a later face-to-face meeting; existing customer or prior business relationship within the past 18 months
North Carolina7/10/0010/1/00$50070,600Attorney General
919/716-6000
N/A;
TCPA* guidelines
(company maintains proprietary do-not-call list)
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.No state list, no state exemptions; law mirrors the TCPA
Oklahoma4/15/021/1/03Up to $5,000Not Available YetAttorney General
405/521-3921
TBDAllowed9PM-8AMNA
Oregon6.18.991.1.00Up to $25,00094,600Attorney General – Department of Justice
877/700-6622
$120/yr
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Non-profit organizations, polling, business-to-business; response to a request by a consumer; calls from companies to persons who have previously purchased from the person making the call
Pennsylvania4/2/02Effective 5/31/02
Compliance Date: 30 days from receipt of list5.
Up to $1,000
(60 or older up to $3,000)
Not Available YetAttorney General--Bureau of Consumer Protection
800/441-2555
TBDProhibited9PM-8AMNA
Tennessee5.28.991.1.00Up to $2,000756,100Tennessee Regulatory Authority
800/342-8359
$500/yr
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Existing customer within the preceding 12 months
Texas6/17/017/1/02$1,000609,100Public Utility Commission
866/896-6225
$180/yr for the no-call list; $200 for the electronic no-call list
Prohibited
Mon. to Sun.
P.M-9 A.M.; Sun. 9 A.M.-12 noon
Established business relationship, if a consumer requests contact; state licensees
Vermont6/5/027/1/02
Sunsets 7/1/04
TBDNot Available YetSecretary of State
802/828-2363
TBDAllowed9PM-8AMNA
Virginia3/23/013/23/01$50070,300Attorney General
804/786-2071
N/A;
TCPA* guidelines
(company maintains proprietary do-not-call list)
Prohibited
9 P.M.-8 A.M.No state list, no state exemptions; law mirrors the TCPA
Wisconsin8/31/011/01/03$100Not Effective YetDepartment of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
608/224-4949
TBD
Allowed
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Response to a recipient’s request; response to a recipient who is a current client of the person selling the property, goods, or services
Wyoming2/26/017/1/01Up to $5,0006,000Attorney General
307/777-7841
$78/yr;
Must purchase DMA’s TPS list
Allowed
9 P.M.-8 A.M.Request by a consumer; established relationship; telephone seller making less than 225 unsolicited calls per year


*Telephone Consumer Protection Act--federal legislation passed in 1991



Launch a printer-friendly version of this page

E-mail this page to a friend