NAR Installs 2016 Officers

San Diego (November 16, 2015) — Tom Salomone, a second generation Realtor® from Coral Springs, Florida, was installed today as 2016 president of the National Association of Realtors® at the association's Board of Directors meeting during the 2015 REALTORS® Conference & Expo. Salomone has been a licensed real estate agent for 40 years and is broker/owner of Real Estate II, a firm specializing in residential real estate.

Salomone was NAR's 2015 president-elect and 2014 first vice president. In 2012, he served as NAR's director of REALTOR® Party activities. He also served as the liaison for the Issues Mobilization, Political Involvement, and REALTOR® Political Action Committees. In 2007, Salomone was NAR's Region 5 vice president, serving Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. He was elected Florida REALTORS® president in 2003 and treasurer in 2001 and was named Florida's Realtor® of the Year in 2005. Salomone serves the community through a number of different organizations, including the Boys & Girls Clubs of America.

Bill Brown, a second generation Realtor® from Oakland, California, is the 2016 president-elect. He has been a Realtor® for more than 35 years and is the founder of Investment Properties, a division of the family real estate business founded by his father William H. Brown, and focuses on the sale of existing apartment buildings to both institutional and private capital investors. Brown has served in numerous positions at the local, state and national levels, including as an NAR director since 1991, the 2004 chairman of the RPAC Trustees, a committee liaison in 2005 and 2011, and 2012 vice president for Region 13, comprised of California, Hawaii, and Guam.

Elizabeth Mendenhall is 2016 NAR first vice president. She has been a Realtor® for 19 years and is CEO of RE/MAX Boone Realty in Columbia, Missouri. Mendenhall is a sixth-generation Realtor® and holds numerous real estate designations. On the national level, she chaired NAR's Strategic Planning Committee in 2012, served as vice president of committees in 2011 and was the NAR liaison to association leadership in 2008. In 2010, the Missouri Association of Realtors® elected Mendenhall president; she also served as president of the Columbia Board of Realtors® and was named their Realtor® of the Year in 2003.

Michael McGrew, a Realtor® from Lawrence, Kansas, is the 2016 NAR treasurer. A Realtor® for more than 30 years, he is the CEO/Chairman of McGrew Real Estate. McGrew was NAR treasurer in 2014 and 2015 and chaired both the Finance Committee and the Reserve Investment Advisory Board. He has served for nearly a decade on NAR's Board of Directors and five years on the Executive Committee. McGrew is on the board of directors of Sentrilock, the REALTORS® Relief Foundation and the Reaume Foundation. He served NAR as the vice president for Region 9, representing Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma, in 2003 and was president of the Kansas Association of Realtors® in 1998.

Michael Labout is 2016 NAR vice president. He has been a Realtor® since 1982 and is a broker with ERA Shields Real Estate in Colorado Springs, Colorado, specializing in residential property. Labout has been involved with NAR for decades; he sat on the board of directors in 2006 and has served on committees for nominating, political communications, policy and the Leadership Academy. He's also served on the Colorado Association of Realtors®' Leadership Team, Executive Committee and Leadership Council. Locally, the Pikes Peak Association of Realtors® elected Labout president in 2001.

Sherri Meadows is also 2016 NAR vice president. Meadows has been a Realtor® for 33 years and is broker/owner of Keller Williams offices in Gainesville, Ocala and Summerfield, Florida. She has served on NAR's Board of Directors since 2007 and chaired the REALTOR® Party Member Involvement Committee in 2013 and the Membership Structure Audit Presidential Advisory Group in 2012. Meadows was Florida Realtors® president in 2014 and Ocala/Marion County Association of Realtors® president in 2002.

NAR's 2016 regional vice presidents are: Kevin Sears, Springfield, Massachusetts, Region 1 (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont); Bette McTamney, Skippack, Pennsylvania, Region 2 (New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania); JoAnne Poole, Glen Burnie, Maryland, Region 3 (Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia); Gordon D. Seay, Greenville, South Carolina, Region 4 (Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee); Nancy Lane, Flowood, Mississippi, Region 5 (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands);

Meg J. Casper, Fort Thomas, Kentucky, Region 6 (Michigan and Ohio); Charles Shook, Lafayette, Indiana, Region 7 (Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin); James P. Cormier, Coon Rapids, Minnesota, Region 8 (Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota); Joe B. Pryor, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, Region 9 (Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma);

Matthew Ritchie, Alexandria, Louisiana, Region 10 (Louisiana and Texas); Kenny Parcell, Spanish Fork, Utah, Region 11 (Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming); V.Faye Nelson, Kennewick, Washington, Region 12 (Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington); and Colleen A. Badagliacco, San Jose, California, Region 13 (California, Hawaii and Guam).

The National Association of Realtors®, "The Voice for Real Estate," is America's largest trade association, representing 1 million members involved in all aspects of the residential and commercial real estate industries.

# # #


Leadership Academy

The Leadership Academy identifies, inspires and mentors emerging leaders from the local and state level for the National Association of REALTORS®.